June’s Reading List

June Reading list

June was a great month for reading. Started a few new series and finished one (I’m a little sad about that). I read a lot more than usual as well and I read out of my genre.

This is an overview of everything I read last month. I’m not going to discuss each book, just the ones that stand out most in my memory.

Here’s the list starting from June 1st:

  • Halfway to the Grave – Jeaniene Frost
  • Reckoning – Jeaniene Frost
  • Fury’s Kiss – Karen Chance
  • One Foot in the Grave – Jeaniene Frost
  • Happily Never After – Jeaniene Frost
  • This Same Earth – Elizabeth Hunter
  • Magic Bites – Ilona Andrews
  • Magic Burns – Ilona Andrews
  • Magic Strikes – Ilona Andrews
  • Magic Bleeds – Ilona Andrews
  • Curran POV Collection – Gordan Andrews
  • Dead Witch Walking – Kim Harrison
  • Flesh – Kylie Scott
  • Skin – Kylie Scott
  • Moon Called – Patricia Briggs
  • Blood Bound – Patricia Briggs
  • Iron Kissed – Patricia Briggs
  • At Grave’s End – Jeaniene Frost
  • The Vixen and the Vet – Katy Regnery
  • Blurred Lines – Lauren Layne
  • Falling Into You – Jasinda Wilder
  • Touch of Evil – C.T. Adams & Cathy Clamp
  • The Warlord Wants Forever – Kresley Cole
  • Assumption – Aurora Rose Reynolds
  • A Hunger Like No Other – Kresley Cole

I only started this blog after reading Assumption so I don’t have reviews for everything but you can check out my Goodreads shelf for ratings. I might write up reviews for some of them later since I have my notes for most of them.

Looking at this list, it seems I’m really into Jeaniene Frost, but I just can’t decide if I like her books or not. I found At Grave’s End hard to read but the first two books in the series were good. I thought the short story Happily Never After was great, which makes me think I just don’t like Cat and Bones. Knowing me, though, I will probably read the next book in the series… just to see.

I finished off my binge of Karen Chance‘s books this month with Fury’s Kiss and I LOVED it. Her books are just brilliant, I absolutely cannot WAIT for the next Cassie book to come out. I’ll definitely be doing a reread of the entire series, short stories included. Love them!!

I started Ilona Andrews‘ Kate Daniels series this month, just to tick off a box on one of my reading challenges. I’m kicking myself for not starting it sooner. I ignored my reading plan to read the next three books and the Curran POV’s, which are brilliant. The characters are evocative, the world is fascinating and the story is exciting. If you love urban fantasy READ THESE BOOKS!

Kylie Scott‘s zombie apocalypse erotica, Flesh, was the Vaginal Fantasy group read for June. I read it mostly because I just had to read a smutty book set during a zombie apocalypse, come on like! I enjoyed it (though a lot of people in the group don’t seem to have) so I read the second book, Skin, which wasn’t as good. The guy in it was crazy. Both books are set in Australia, which I thought would add to the zombie terror but the zombies are just a backdrop. If you like horror and are feeling smutty, I’d say give it a go.

I started Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series because I had to read a book with a werewolf for another challenge. Again I just had to keep reading it. I love Mercy, she’s a tomboy (which the women usually are in UF) but she doesn’t cross the line completely. She’s a mechanic but she still acts like a girl and has dresses and sometimes wears makeup. (One thing that annoyed me about Kate Daniels is that she only had one dress. Who the heck has only one dress?!) The heat in the romance in this series seems a bit flat (so far anyway) but the story is great. Mercy has intriguing adventures, although, she does get left out a bit in the beginning.

I read a good few romance books near the end of the month, which I don’t normally read that much of. The only one I’m going to mention here is Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder. Oh my god the tears they did flow when I read this. So, have the tissues ready if you decide to read it

Touch of Evil by C.T. Adams  & Cathy Clamp I should have gobbled up but didn’t. It ticks all the boxes for books I enjoy but for some reason this book didn’t do it for me. I found the beginning choppy, I didn’t  connect with any of the characters and Tom just peeved me. Having said all that, though, the story was pretty good and the mythology is interesting. I just can’t make up my mind on it…I’ll probably read the next one, just to see.

And that takes me to my final books of the month, Kresley Cole‘s Immortals After Dark series. After reading the first two, Cole is now on my favourite authors list. I absolutely LOVE the world she’s created. She writes it’s components into each book without bogging down the story, which is hard to do! I love the Valkyrie, they are definitely my favourite creatures in the series. I can’t wait to read more, delighted there’s so many books published already for me to read.

For July, I plan on reading more Kresley Cole, Ilona Andrews, and Patricia Briggs. We’ll see how that goes though, it’s so hard to stick to plans.

Happy Reading

Leave a Reply

