The Harlequin – Laurell K. Hamilton

30225Title: The Harlequin
 
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
 
Genre: Paranormal Romance
 
Series: Anita Blake #15
 
Goodreads Rating: 3.9/5
 
 
Synopsis:
‘They will play with us, then destroy us… They are what we fear in the dark.’

The first warning is unexpected, calculated. The second warning is a gift: a plain white mask, carefully wrapped. But white is good – white means we are only being watched.

It seems the power that connects me, Anita Blake, with Jean-Claude Vampire Master of the City and Richard, leader of the werewolves, is attracting very unwelcome attention – from creatures so feared no vampire will willingly speak their name. They are known as the Harlequin, and they have the authority to pass judgement upon me. It is forbidden to speak of the Harlequin unless you’ve been contacted. And to be contacted is to face a sentence of death.

 
✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯ 
 
What I thought about the book: So this chicks vagina is quickly becoming the centre of the universe.
The really annoying thing about where this series has gone is that she still writes a good suspense plot it just gets completely hidden behind all the pointless meandering sex scenes. There are too many men as well. I can’t seem to care about any of them. She could kill off half the characters at this stage and I’d think ‘meh’.
BUT I still don’t want to stop reading this series!! I’ve made it to book 15 and I really really loved it at the beginning. I binged the first 10 books. I guess I’m a glutton for punishment.
As far as this book is concerned, I really liked the idea of the harlequin and the ending was good. There needs to be more actually fighting and less metaphysical fighting, though. It’s weird to picture everyone just standing around in a room making weird faces because they’re all feeling stuff instead of doing stuff.
 
✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯     ✯
 
My Rating:
2 paws
One comment

Leave a Reply

