The Books on my Currently Reading Shelf and why I’m in a slump.

Reading slumps sometimes sneak up on you, don’t they? They often happen after finishing a really amazing book or series and you’re just not ready to leave that world.

I really wish I knew why I’m in this slump. I hate when these slumps happen. I find myself looking so guiltily at my Currently Reading shelf and turning away for fear of judgement by the books. Weirdly, I just don’t feel like reading! What is wrong with me?!

Goodreads thinks I’m reading 6 books at the moment. All but one I am close to half way through but I am somehow lacking the incentive to finish them.

Currently Reading

Unholy Ghosts (Downside Ghosts, #1)
Magic Graves (Night Huntress, #4.5; Kate Daniels, #0.5)
On the Prowl (Alpha & Omega, #0.5)
Keystone (Crossbreed #1)
Wintersong

Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark #7)

Unholy Ghosts (Downside Ghosts, #1)
Magic Graves (Night Huntress, #4.5; Kate Daniels, #0.5)
On the Prowl (Alpha & Omega, #0.5)
Keystone (Crossbreed #1)
Wintersong
Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark #7)


The only book I haven’t actually started is Unholy Ghosts. I read the first 2/3 sentences and started reading Keystone which I dropped because it was boring. I stopped reading Unholy Ghosts because I had just finished First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones (amazing book) about two minutes before picking it up and wasn’t in the mood for more ghosts.
Wintersong is really good but it took me awhile to get into it.
Kiss of a Demon is really good, classic Kresley Cole which means I can see where the story is going.
The anthologies Magic Graves and On the Prowl, I started to help me through the reading slump which didn’t really work.
I will definitely finish Wintersong, Kiss of a Demon King, and Unholy Ghosts but Keystone will most likely be a DNF.

How do you deal with reading slumps? Have you read any of the books mentioned above?
3 comments

  1. I know the feeling! I hate reading slumps… and I just recently got out of a three month slump that was terrible. I just couldn’t get into anything I tried to read! I went from reading 8-10 books a month, to reading 1-2 books a month. And honestly, I was embarrassed. Luckily, I’m out of it now… but I think what helped me conquer the dreaded slump was not forcing myself to read. I found that when I kept trying to make myself read, I wasn’t enjoying reading… and that made it worse. So once I stopped trying to force myself to read… I began actually wanting to read after a while. I hope that makes sense! Lol.

      1. Let me know how it goes for you! Most people will also tell you to switch up genres… try reading something from a different genre. And that has actually worked for me in the past, but didn’t work for me this last time for some reason.

Leave a Reply

