Books I DNF’d

For those who don’t know, DNF means Did Not Finish.

Luckily it’s a short list. Usually, I go back and finish a DNF but some of them I have no intention what so ever of finishing.

Knight of a Trillion Stars (Matrix of Destiny #1) Knight of a Trillion Stars – Dara Joy

The audiobook of this was free on scribd a few months so I decided to give it a whirl. Ugh, what a waste of time. It was just way too cheesy for me. Every time Lorgin spoke I would just roll my eyes. Will not finish.

Bait (Wake, #1) Bait – M. Mabi

This was ok. The story was pretty slow though. There was a lot of cheating going on and they weren’t really going anywhere so I got bored and just didn’t bother picking it up again. Will not finish.

My Name Is Lucy Barton My Name is Lucy Barton – Elizabeth Strout

I was so excited to read this after reading loads of great reviews for it but man was it boring. This woman lived totally inside her own head, fell ‘in love’ with any man that was nice to her and was just plain boring. Will not finish.

Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined Life and Death – Stephenie Meyer

I just wanted to see if the story would be more enjoyable with the gender swap. It was the same. Will not finish.

From Ashes (From Ashes, #1) From Ashes – Molly McAdams

I got bored and the “love triangle” pissed me off. Will not finish.

The Exorcist The Exorcist – William Peter Blatty

I was listening to the audiobook read by the author. I didn’t like his narration. I’ll pick up the book instead.

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #1) Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper – J.L. Bryan

This was ok. I just lost interest. Ghost trapping sounds exciting and fun but not so much for these guys. Based too much in reality I think. Will not finish.

Torrent (Condemned, #1) Torrent – Gemma James

No. Just no. Rape fantasies and slapping a woman across the breasts with a belt. Nope. I got as far as the main guy saying he cared for the girl but really wanted to rape her. What the fuck?! Will not finish.

Keystone (Crossbreed #1) Keystone – Dannika Dark

I got bored. It started off pretty good but then grew stagnant during the world building/training stage. I didn’t care about any of the characters so why bother. Will not finish.

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre Mr Darcy, Vampyre – Amanda Grange

I don’t remember anything about this… I’m a big fan of classic retellings so I might give it another go.

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4) City of Fallen Angels – Cassandra Clare

I was satisfied with the third book in the series being the end so didn’t feel much incentive to keep going. I think I will come back to this though because I really like the characters and the world.

Faithful Faithful – Alice Hoffman

I have this on my DNF shelf so I must have started it but I don’t remember a single thing about it.

The Magicians (The Magicians #1) The Magicians – Lev Grossman

Quentin was such an asshole. I got about half way.

The English Patient The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje

This I will come back to at some point I just wasn’t feeling it at the time.

Dark Prince (Dark, #1) Dark Prince – Christine Feehan

The guy in this was just too positive which is really common in PNR but got annoyed with this one. I didn’t like Feehan’s writing style either. I’ve since read a good few of her books from other series and enjoyed them so I might give this another go.

Dune Dune – Frank Herbert

I wasn’t feeling an intricate story with lots of characters at the time. I will come back to this at some point.


How many DNF’s do you have? Have you read any of these books and think I should give them another chance?

9 comments

  1. Most of these I agree so much I didn’t get much past the first chapter before they lost space on my reader and memory. I did read Dark Prince and book 2, reviewed and rated them. I have yet to get to book 3 so I haven’t decided what to do with the series.

    Good topic

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’ll probably give Dark Prince another go but I’m not in a hurry to pick it up again. I really enjoyed her ghostwalker series. I think I’m as far book 4 now.

  2. How did I miss the news about a gender swap Twilight? I mean, I’m not a massive Twilight fan or anything, but I might have to read this simply to sate my curiousity 😛

    I’m a fan of classic retellings too. Have you ever read ‘Jane Slayre’? It’s ‘Jane Eyre’ but with vampires thrown in. Utterly ridiculous but lots of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

