July Wrap Up

Books Read

Shifter Made (Shifters Unbound, #0.5)MicroThe CorinthianRoyal Passion (Royal, #2)Rachel's Holiday (Walsh Family, #2)Written in Red (The Others, #1)Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark #9)The 100 (The 100, #1)Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)Murder of Crows (The Others, #2)Making It Up As I Go AlongVision in Silver (The Others, #3)Marked in Flesh (The Others, #4)Venom (Elemental Assassin, #3)The Rift Walker (Vampire Empire, #2)I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsEtched in Bone (The Others, #5)Playing for Keeps (Neighbor from Hell, #1)

Highlights

The Corinthian

The Corinthian by Georgette Heyer ★★★★☆

My second Heyer book I enjoyed almost as much as the first and far more than my third (I think my third was The Convenient Marriage which I DNF’d because the MC drove me crazy). The Corinthian follows Penelope and Sir Richard fleeing London in an attempt to escape unwanted marriages Getting tangled up in a robbery, a murder, and star-crossed lovers on the way.

It was a very enjoyable, light -hearted story.

Book Depository Link

Written in Red

Written in Red by Anne Bishop ★★★★★

Oh, my god, this was amazing!! I read the first book for a reading challenge and quickly gobbled up the rest of the books in the series. I ordered the next two before I had finished this one and the two after those before finishing the second book!

Written in Red is the first book in Bishop’s The Others series. Set in an alternate America called Thasia, where humans and paranormal beings, known as the Terra Indigene, exist side by side (mostly…). The Others rule the realm but some humans aren’t too happy about that and cause all kinds of trouble with dire consequences. We mainly follow Meg Corbyn and Simon Wolfgard along with the other residents of the Lakeside Courtyard. Meg is a blood prophet on the run from those who imprisoned her and kept her as property for the sale of prophecies. She finds her way to the Lakeside Courtyard where Simon hires her as their Human Liason. The Others are intrigued by Meg and decide to protect her but by doing so they take on a lot more than they could ever have realised.

Book Depository Link

Pleasure of a Dark Prince

Pleasure of a Dark Prince by Kresley Cole ★★★★☆

Another fantastic book from Cole’s Immortals After Dark series. Pleasure of a Dark Prince is the 9th book in the series but backtracks to the second book giving us a story that was hinted at in A Hunger Like No Other. What I love about Cole’s writing is how she writes tension and keeps you wanting to read more and more. Every single time I start one of her books it is impossible for me to stop!!

Pleasure of a Dark Prince follows Lykae Garreth MacRieve (hello book boyfriend!!) and Valkyrie Lucia the Huntress on the search for an ancient weapon in the hopes of ultimately destroying a god.

Book Depository Link

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou ★★★★☆

My first book by Angelou and it won’t be my last. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings chronicles Angelou’s youth from the time she and her brother were sent to live with their grandmother and uncle in Southern USA. It encapsulates some beautiful, frightening, liberating and loving moments of life.

Book Depository Link


Well that’s it for July. It was a very good reading month. I enjoyed almost everything I read, even the ones I didn’t mention in my highlights.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of these books.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

